Ruining Readers in 21 Quotes (also, a happy birthday)

With the birthday of our beloved Noah Shaw, here are 21 quotes to bring us back to the 21 times Michelle Hodkin ensnared our hearts

‘Tis the season to rekindle our love for fictional character of finished series past. Not that we actually need a season to reminisce our love for the Mara Dyer trilogy’s Noah Shaw. Ever since the series came to an end with the release of “Retribution” last year, our longing for those dark lashes and wrecking half-smile remain fresh like a new cut.

The birthday of our beloved Sagittarius couldn’t be a more perfect excuse for us to take a breather from the fast-paced lifestyle we seem to lead lately and spare some time to reflect on the 21 times Michelle Hodkin ensnared our hearts with her beautiful composition.

Let’s start the way every story does: from the beginning.

“I whipped around at the sound of the warm, lilting British accent behind me.

His strong jaw and chin were slightly scruffy as though he hadn’t shaved in days, and his eyes looked gray in the shade. Strands of his dark chestnut hair stuck out every which way. Bedroom hair.”

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Mhmm, British accent. Mhmm, bedroom hair. More please.

“I was warned about you, you know.”
And with that half-smile that wrecked me, Noah said, “But you’re here anyway.”

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Dear Mara, you weren’t the only one who was wrecked. And let us not forget Noah’s other beautiful features to top that smile:

I shaded his face out of nothingness. I smudged the slope of his neck and darkened his delinquent mouth, while the lights accented the right angle of his jaw against the cloudy sky outside.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Then there’s the occasional heart-palpitation-causing descriptions, no biggie.

It was hard to appreciate how beautiful the silent, secret beach was with Noah standing there, looking like sex in a slim-cut tux, lean and tall and extravagantly gorgeous.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

If we are ruined by his looks alone, I couldn’t even begin to describe how hard I know we were all hit when Hodkin had him talk of his pain.

“About feeling so numb to it and everything that I was sure I couldn’t actually exist? That I must be made of nothing to feel so much nothing, that the pain the blade drew from my skin was the only thing that made me feel real?”

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

I suppose it is true that we are all drawn toward what’s beautiful and broken. And Noah Shaw is just so broken. 

Now that we were this close, I could see what I missed before.
Noah acted like he felt nothing because he felt everything. He seemed not to care because he cared too much.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

“There’s nothing I want. There’s nothing I can’t do. I don’t care about anything. No matter what, I’m an impostor. An actor in my own life.”

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Meld his good looks, open heart and charming personality with an eloquent tongue, Hodkin has cooked up a recipe for dreamy-guy-of-all-girls’-dreams.

“If I were to live a thousand years, I would belong to you for all of them. If I were to live a thousand lives, I would want to make you mine in each one.” 

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Noah can also say things like,

“You made me real and I will hurt for you and because of you and be grateful for the pain.”

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

and,

“You can’t hurt me the way you think you can. But even if you could? I would rather die with the taste of you on my tongue than live and never touch you again.”

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

until such a time that we melt even more despite the fact that we are but liquid on the floor.

“You are what happiness means to me. And I would rather have today with you than forever with anyone else.”

The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Too much swoon? Apparently, not quite.

I know what I can do to a girl with a word, a look, a touch. And I want to do them all to her.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

But, of course, we didn’t fall in love with only Noah. We also fell in love with the way Mara loves him,

I knew Noah worshipped Charlie Parker and that his toothbrush was green. That he wouldn’t bother to button his shirts correctly but always made his bed. That when he slept he curled into himself and that his eyes were the color of the clouds before it rained, and I knew he had no problem eating meat but would subtly leave the room if animals started to kill one another on the Discovery Channel. I knew one hundred little things about Noah Shaw but when he kissed me I couldn’t remember my own name.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

because Hodkin simply couldn’t stop from feeding the daydreams of us, single ladies.

This was the boy I loved. A little bit messy. A little bit ruined. A beautiful disaster. Just like me.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Remember that gripping-prophecy quote? Well, it’s one of my favourites.

You will love him to ruins.

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

The quote was very short, true. Did not even reach ten words, also true. Yet, you can’t help but be in awe at the weight of meaning that is held within its simplicity. It reminded me again of how brilliant Hodkin’s writing is.

Or perhaps you remember that time when there’s nothing better than a good ol’ right in the feels.

“She can’t help what she does to you. She is your weakness, as you are hers.”

The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

We have more where that came from:

“He could never use you. You own him. You should’ve seen the way he was looking at you while you were out.”

I smiled a little. “How?”

“Like you’re the ocean and he’s desperate to drown.”

The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

I hope you can still take a couple more quotes. And by “a couple”, I meant four.

And by “hope”, I already know that you will love them.

“…I can’t bear to look at my bed without seeing you in it.”

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

You guessed right. That was Noah doing what he does best: teasing us. Again.

“I’m not sure you can appreciate how much I want to lay you out before me and make you scream my name.”

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

I know, I know. All these quotes are only making us more hungry for a taste at actually feeling Noah’s presence next to us.

Oh wait, we have a quote for that, too.

It was his T-shirt, the white one with the holes in it. I filled my hands with the fabric and brought it up to my face.

I caught the barest, faintest scent of him, soap and sandalwood and smoke, and in that moment, I felt not loss but need.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

I felt found.

And just like that, I was completely, utterly and entirely,

His.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin

Sigh.

We thank you for the happiness you’ve blessed us with, handsome fictional character. Above all, thank you, Michelle Hodkin.

And before I forget: We wish you a happy birthday, Noah.

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 8.37.11 PM

One thought on “Ruining Readers in 21 Quotes (also, a happy birthday)

Leave a Reply

