The End. The 5 Stages of Dealing With The End of A Series

Are any of your favourite book series ending this 2016? We feel you. These are the 5 stages of grief you’ll go through after closing that final book.

As they say, all good things must come to an end. So, when you pick up that very first book of a series you’ve also signed up for its imminent end. But just because you can see the end coming it doesn’t make it less painful, especially when the series has given you so much life.

This year, we’re looking forward to lots of new releases but we’re also saying goodbye to some of favourite book series like The 5th Wave and The Raven Cycle just to name a few. I know I’ll be ready with my box of tissues next to Dee when we get to that final word, on that final page, of the final book. And here are the 5 Stages of Grief – based on the Kubler-Ross model – that we’ll go through (and maybe some of you have already gone through) when our most beloved book series comes to an end:

          1)    Denial

tumblr_inline_n8ry477zpw1s0woe7

“Wait, what? What do you mean that was the last book? What do you mean the author isn’t gonna write a continuation to the story. What? My other ships haven’t sailed yet, there’s still so many questions left unanswered, and I can’t just let go of these characters I love them too much already. No, these are all lies. There’s absolutely gonna be another book, you’ll see.”

          2)    Anger

giphy

/flings book against the wall/ “I REFUSE. HOW COULD YOU HAVE ENDED THE BOOK LIKE THAT?! I WASN’T READY FOR THIS TO END YET. I WAS EXPECTING SO MUCH MORE AND THIS IS WHAT I GET? YOU KNOW WHAT, I’M GLAD THIS BOOK ENDED. I’M DONE WITH THIS SERIES. I’M DONE WITH THIS AUTHOR. I’M DONE.”

(This stage may last for a longer period of time especially when the book’s ending was less than satisfying. I know I’ve been there.)

          3)    Bargaining

tumblr_maokx6wmqw1rwqft7

“Who am I kidding? Of course, I’m not done with this series. I  regret everything. If only I had fallen in love with these book sooner, then I would have had more time to fangirl over the characters. Or if only I had never found these books at all, that way I would have never gone through any of this pain.”

          4)    Depression

tumblr_n57s2gjfoj1slv9j7o1_500

/reaches for yet another tissue, stares at book covers, sobs quietly/

          5)    Acceptance

tumblr_m9q1brtvir1r7z4oqo1_500

“Okay, maybe I was overreacting just a little bit there. Knowing this series has ended is still really sad but it doesn’t have to be all that bad. I know I’ll miss my favourite characters and that feeling of excitement when I’m anticipating the next release, but this means I’ll have more time to fall in love with new stories and characters. I’m so glad I found this book.”

/stumbles upon new book series/ Ooo, this sounds interesting. Maybe I should give it a try….


If you ask me how ready I am to say goodbye to my favourite characters, my answer is simple: I’m not. At least for now I’ll continue to fangirl about the upcoming The 5th Wave movie and browse through RonanxAdam playlists on 8Tracks – maybe if I don’t think about it then it won’t happen. What that’s you ask? No, I’m not in denial.

And what about you? Which book series will you miss the most or have already missed?

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 8.36.29 PM

Leave a Reply

