Review: Six of Crows

What a way to start the year

23437156Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

GOODREADS


It’s only been a week into 2017 and I can say with all my heart that Six of Crows will probably be one of the best books I’ll read this year.

Where do I even start?

Admittedly, before I started reading I was already worried knowing that the book is told through multiple POVs. The risk of the story turning messy was just too real. In the end though, Bardugo proved me wrong – big time. The characters in every chapter were full of life, not a single one of them was a two-dimensional Mary Sue or Gary Stu that you know we love to hate. On top of that, the characters were incredibly human. Bardugo not only highlighted all the qualities that made them ‘good’ but also never apologised for each of the characters’ struggles with their inner demons. All of them had their own back story, purpose, and importance (which basically means we’ve successfully avoided yet another Chosen One trope, thank god) and I can’t tell you just what a breath of fresh air this was.

One character, however, basically stole my heart; and if you’ve read this book you could probably guess who he is: Kaz Brekker. This guy could put a smile the size of Jupiter on my face in one page and then reduce me to a puddle of sadness in the next one. At first, Kaz seemed like the typical bad boy. Equipped with a devil-may-care attitude and an arsenal of witty comebacks, he struck me as the kind of character that I would end up hating because he was too cliche. At the end of the book, I realised that he was anything but that. He’s not a faultless protagonist and at some points in the story you might even find yourself shaking your head because of his decisions. But he’s also complicated, daring, vulnerable and reminds me a hell of a lot of Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle. Props to Bardugo for creating this monster of a character.

Since I’ve never read the Shadow and Bone trilogy there were references in this book that I didn’t fully understand. Having said that, I think Bardugo did a pretty good job of patching up the holes and making sure that even first time readers like me could follow this story without depending on the other books. The world building was spectacular and the pacing was just right.

If you haven’t read Six of Crows, and I highly recommend that you do, you’ll find gems like:

“She’d laughed, and if he could have bottled the sound and gotten drunk on it every night, he would have. It terrified him.”

“There was no part of him that was not broken, that had not healed wrong, and there was no part of him that was not stronger for having been broken.”

Just like how Dee and I fell in love with Stiefvater’s writing in the Raven Cycle and Yancey’s in The Fifth Wave Trilogy, Bardugo’s writing pretty much swept me off my feet. She doesn’t try too hard to add meaning to her descriptions. She includes romance in the story in a way that doesn’t overshadow the main plot but still keeps us on the edge of our seats. She made a plot line that seemed deadly simple at a first glance, a crew of six people performing an impossible prison break, into a whirlwind of a story.

After reading through this review, saying that this book impressed me is probably an understatement. Amazing, well-written characters? Check. Exciting, action-packed plot? Check. Cliffhanger ending that makes you want to jump straight into the sequel? Check. All in all, if Six of Crows isn’t in your to-read list, you’re definitely missing out.

Rating: 5 / 5

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 8.36.29 PM

Leave a Reply

